Reviewing Criminal Penalties Associated with Marijuana with the Help of Criminal Lawyers

Reviewing Criminal Penalties Associated with Marijuana with the Help of Criminal Lawyers

Under Minnesota laws, the possession or sale of marijuana is a criminal offense, and individuals charged with these infractions could face extensive prison sentences together with hefty fines. Criminal lawyers are available to help these individuals build a defense and avoid a conviction.

What Are the Penalties for Possession of Marijuana?

Possession charges associated with marijuana begin with forty-two grams or less. The initial offense is classified as a misdemeanor and could result in a fine of $200. The penalties increase if the quantity found is more than forty-two grams but doesn’t exceed ten kilograms. This charge and all increased possession charges are classified as a felony. For less than ten kilograms, the defendant would receive five years in prison and a fine of $10,000.

The next charge increases the quantity to a range of lower than fifty kilograms. This infraction equates to twenty years in prison with a fine of around $250,000. As the quantity increases to no more than one hundred kilograms the sentence increases to twenty-five years. The fine is increased to $500,000. The highest marijuana possession charge is any quantity that exceeds one hundred kilograms. This charge equates to thirty years in prison and a $1,000,000 fine.

Reviewing the Penalties for Selling Marijuana

The lowest quantity that applies to the most minimal charge for selling marijuana is five kilograms. This charge results in five years in prison and a $10,000 fine. Next, the quantity increases to five to twenty-five kilograms. This charge results in twenty years in prison and fines of $250,000. The sale of quantities over twenty-five kilograms and below fifty equates to twenty-five years in prison and a $500,000 fine. The sale of marijuana in which the quality exceeds fifty kilograms requires twenty-five years in prison and a $1,000,000 fine.

Minor-Related Charges

The crime of using a minor to smuggle the drug into the country results in a felony charge. It holds a prison sentence of thirty-five years and a fine of $1,250,000. Any individual who sells to minors receives twenty years in prison and a fine of no less than $250,000 regardless of the quantity.
Minnesota enforces strict laws that prohibit the possession and distribution of schedule one controlled substances. When these laws are violated, the accused must face criminal prosecution. Anyone charged with these infractions should contact criminal lawyers by visiting Blatzlawminnesota.com today.

Be the first to like.

Share!
    FavoriteLoadingAdd to favorites

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    nineteen + thirteen =