Hiring An Attorney For A DUI Charge In Wichita, KS

Hiring An Attorney For A DUI Charge In Wichita, KS

In the state of KS, all drivers who make the decision to drive while intoxicated are further providing law enforcement with implied consent to administer a breathalyzer test. If it is established that the driver’s blood-alcohol content is 0.08 percent or higher, law enforcement has the authority to arrest them on the spot. If you need an Attorney For a DUI charge in Wichita KS today, you should contact Rocky Wiechman Law immediately.

Understanding Kansas Law

Any refusal to comply with a breathalyzer test results in immediate suspension of the driver’s license. Law enforcement should have probable cause to stop you unless you enter a designated checkpoint. The officers can arrest you under suspicion even if you do not undergo testing.

Any drivers who are convicted of a first-offense DUI will receive a maximum of one year in county lockup, fines that will not exceed $2,500, and license suspension for at least one year. All individuals convicted of DUI are required to attend drug and alcohol treatment programs as a prevention tactic to prevent further occurrences. At any time that a child is present in the vehicle upon the discovery of a DUI the penalties are increased based on an aggravated DUI charge. This implies that an additional month is added to the driver’s sentence.

These individuals are subject to reinstatement fees to acquire a new license after their suspension period ends. If he or she was operating a commercial vehicle, their commercial driver’s license is revoked for one year with the potential of job loss. Additional fees may apply based on the circumstances of the arrest such as if an accident occurred.

When an Accident Occurs

Drivers who caught driving while intoxicated after an accident has happened are subject to penalties based on any additional charges that may apply. They will receive further citations for speeding, reckless driving, or reckless endangerment. If the victim involved in the accident dies, there is a possibility that she or he is charged with involuntary manslaughter.

DUI charges are serious offenses in the state of Kansas and throughout the country. Strict penalties are applied based on the number of convictions and the circumstances of an accident. If you need an Attorney For a DUI charge in Wichita KS now, you should visit Rockylaw.net.

Rockylaw.net

 

Be the first to like.

Share!
    FavoriteLoadingAdd to favorites

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    ten + 9 =