Reviewing Motor Vehicle Insurance Requirements After An Accident

Reviewing Motor Vehicle Insurance Requirements After An Accident

The state of North Carolina is identified as a fault state. This indicates that fault is assigned after auto accidents are investigated. Once a driver is deemed at fault, he or she is responsible for the medical and repair costs incurred by the accident victim. This driver is required by state laws to file a claim through their insurance carrier to cover these costs.

When You’re an Accident Victim

You have three options for collecting damages. You could submit a claim through your auto insurance. This indicates that your insurer will contact the at-fault driver’s carrier to collect these damages.

Secondly, you could file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver. This requires you to hire an attorney to gather evidence and submit a claim. Your attorney reviews your case and determines whether you have a viable claim according to North Carolina laws.

And lastly, you could utilize a third-party claim to file against the driver’s insurance carrier. This allows you to contact their insurance carrier on your own. You’ll give notice to this company that you intend to file an action against them, if they fail to comply with insurance laws.

Understanding Insurance Laws

If you’re injured in an accident and didn’t have coverage, you could face penalties. It is also possible that you could be penalized for non-compliance, which could reduce the damages you receive. The Motor Vehicle Insurance requirements in North Carolina indicate that all drivers should have no less than liability coverage.

You’re required by law to have at least $25,000 worth of coverage for injuries sustained in an accident with a maximum of $60,000. The policy must also offer at least $25,000 in property damage coverage. While you aren’t required to maintain coverage beyond these values, you can acquire coverage at higher levels.

All drivers in North Carolina must comply with insurance laws. A failure to abide by these laws could result in suspension of your license, registration, or both. At any time that you’re found to be noncompliant a notice is sent to you ordering proof of coverage by the DMV. If you wish to fulfill your responsibilities by purchasing Motor Vehicle Insurance, you should visit Gilmartinagency.com for a free quote.

 

 

 

                    

Be the first to like.

Share!
    FavoriteLoadingAdd to favorites

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    20 − nine =