Hiring An Attorney In Royse City, TX After A DWI Charge

Texas law enforcement strictly enforces DWI laws throughout the state. This moving violation has been a leading cause of accident-related deaths for many decades. In an attempt to prevent these occurrences, the county courts have imposed harsher penalties to punish those found guilty of these infractions. If you are facing a DWI charge, you should hire an Attorney in Royse City TX to represent you.

Identifying a DWI

Although the effects of alcohol affect individuals differently due to weight and metabolism, any driver who possesses a blood-alcohol content of 0.08 percent is guilty of a DWI. This level of intoxication causes an impairment that could prevent the driver from reacting quickly to prevent an accident. Intoxication is not limited to the consumption of alcohol; drivers who are under the influence of controlled substances are equally guilty of a DWI.

The Penalties Imposed in Rockwall County

The penalties of DWI are imposed upon the convicted based on an existing criminal record. However, if a driver is guilty of a DWI and has children under the age of fifteen in the vehicle could face harsher punishment. The penalties that are applied in these circumstances are a fine of no more than $10,000, no more than two years in county lockup, and a license suspension of up to one hundred-eighty days. If you are charged with this aggravated DWI charge, you should hire an Attorney in Royse City TX immediately upon your arrest.

First offense DWI charges impose fines of no more than $2,000, with a jail sentence that ranges between three to one hundred-eighty days. The driver loses their license for a period that does not exceed one year. For the next three years, he or she is required to pay an annual fee that ranges between $1,000 and $2,000. Failure to comply with the annual fee requirements for after any DWI conviction results in immediate license suspension.

Driving while intoxicated charges are taken seriously throughout the state of Texas. These infractions require additional stipulations such as an SR-22 automobile insurance for any driver convicted. This requirement enforces their financial responsibility should they become involved in an accident. It is also probable for Rockwall County to impose additional charges in the event that a DWI-based accident results in a fatality. If you are arrested for a DWI, you should hire an Attorney promptly.

Contact Law Office of Tim Hartley, for more information.

Be the first to like.

Share!
    FavoriteLoadingAdd to favorites

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    five × four =